Simplified Vegan Alfredo Sauce (gluten, soy, and sugar free)

Before I found out that I shouldn’t have dairy, I used to love making cream based pasta sauces. It is one of the things I have been missing the most, so I decided to find some alternatives. I can’t take credit for this recipe though, I just simplified it for my own ease. To see the original recipe by Rhea Parsons, follow this link to One Green Planet’s recipe.

I like to use the TruRoots brand gluten free penne noodles from Costco for most of my pastas because they are a nice texture and don’t seem grainy like some gluten free pastas. I also like the penne noodles because they hold the sauce really well. I am addicted to this sauce! Enjoy!

 

Simplified Vegan Alfredo Sauce (gluten, soy, and sugar free)

Ingredients:

1lb gluten free pasta of your choice (I use TruRoots penne from Costco)
1 pinch salt
2 tsp olive oil or vegan, soy free butter
1 medium onion, chopped
5 cloves garlic, chopped
1 cup raw cashews
1 cup hot water (I boil the kettle)
1 tbsp lemon juice concentrate, or the juice of 1 lemon
1 tbsp mustard
1/2 tsp paprika
1 pinch nutmeg
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper

1 cup unsweetened almond milk (or any non-dairy milk)
2 tbsp vegan, soy free butter (optional – creates creamier texture)
1 cup frozen peas
1 bunch asparagus (sometimes I just use the frozen peas if I don’t have asparagus on hand)

OPTIONAL SAUCE INGREDIENTS:
1 tbsp tahini (adds a richer flavour)
2 tbsp nutritional yeast (gives a more Parmesan-like flavour)

Directions:

1. Start boiling the water for the pasta as soon as you have cut up your onion and garlic, as the sauce is very quick to make. Add the pinch of salt to your water for extra flavour and to boil faster.

2. In a medium pan, heat the 2 tbsp of oil or vegan, soy free butter on medium heat. Cook the onions and garlic until they are clear and beginning to brown (approx 8 mins).

3. While the onions and garlic are cooking, heat the water for the cashews in the kettle. In a blender or food processor (I use my Magic Bullet with the big blender attachment), blend the cashews and hot water together until they look kind of like cashew milk. Add the cooked onions and garlic, (keep the pan out, you will use it again) as well as the lemon juice, mustard, paprika, nutmeg, salt, pepper, and optional tahini and nutritional yeast, and blend until very smooth (approx 2 mins).

4. Pour the cashew sauce into the pan and add the non-dairy milk. For a creamier texture, add the option 2 tbsp of vegan, soy free butter. Stir on low heat until smooth and beginning to bubble. Move to low heat until the pasta is ready.

5. When the pasta is almost cooked, pour the peas and asparagus right into the hot water and cook for 1-2 minutes until the asparagus is bright green, but still slightly crunchy. Strain the pasta, peas, and asparagus.

6. Combine the sauce and noodles, and heat until it is your desired thickness. I often will just stir until everything has been coated and serve. Serve with pepper and salt on the table to people can add these to their taste!

3 thoughts on “Simplified Vegan Alfredo Sauce (gluten, soy, and sugar free)

Leave a Reply

