Quinoa Breakfast Cakes (in progress!)

Breakfast Quinoa Cakes

One of the most frustrating meals of the day for me to make since I can no longer have eggs or wheat is Breakfast. Before I found out about my sensitivities I used to have eggs almost every morning. Now, it’s been quinoa with various toppings, or GF crackers and peanut butter and honey. This morning I decided I was sick of that and wanted to try baking some quinoa honey cakes and decided to invent my own recipe. This is still a work in progress, but they turned out nice and fluffy and had the right texture. I upped the portions of honey and spices I used in this version because you could hardly taste them in the one I made.

Quinoa Breakfast Cakes

This recipe can be made using fresh or day-old quinoa. It doesn’t matter.

Ingredients:

1 cup dry quinoa, cooked to package directions (approx 4 cups cooked quinoa)
1/2 cup walnut pieces (or any nuts, or sub anything you can have or want)
1/2 cup NSA (no sugar added) or unsweetened craisins or raisins
1/2 cup of your favourite GF flour (I used Robin Hood GF blend)
3/4 cup almond milk (or rice, coconut, cashew milk, whatever you like)
1/2 cup honey (or more or less depending how sweet you like it)
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
2 tbsp chia seeds (chia + water = egg replacement)
1/4 cup water

Preheat oven to 375° F

While quinoa is cooking, or before you start, soak chia seeds in water for 15 mins. This allows the chia to release a gel-like substance that holds baking together like eggs (and it tastes good, and it’s very health! win!).

Mix together the cooked quinoa, soaked chia, GF flour, nuts, craisins, almond milk, honey, and spices. If it’s too wet, add 1 tbsp flour. If it’s too dry, add 1 tbsp water or alternative milk. You want it to be able to stay in a ball when you pack it, but not so dry that pieces are falling off. You want your hands to be wet after packing it into a ball.

Make a fist-sized ball and place it on a cookie sheet (I lined my cookie sheet with baking parchment, but if you want to grease yours with oil I am sure that would be fine). The balls don’t really expand so you don’t have to leave very much space between them. I put 6 on a small cookie sheet but probably could have fit 8. The recipe made 10 of my-fist sized balls. If you have big fists, go for 2 inch balls, like a small muffin size.

Bake for 35-40 mins, or until golden on top. I have an older oven, so newer ovens may take less time.

We really enjoyed these. I am definitely going to make them again. I can see myself making these on lots of Sundays to have a quick snacks/breakfasts to eat throughout the week. Bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

